PB&J oatmeal

I am a bit of an oatmeal addict. I can’t get enough; especially when it’s cold outside. One of the greatest things about oatmeal is its versatility. It seems that there is always a neverending array of new flavor combinations waiting to be tried. This past week I’ve been on a chai spice inspired oatmeal kick, but today I thought I’d shake things up by taking one of my favorite sandwiches and creating its oatmeal counterpart. Let me introduce you to my PB & J banana oatmeal:

  • 1 cup old-fashioned oats
  • 1 3/4 cup water
  • 1 banana, melted (to “melt” your banana cut it into coins and place in microwave safe bowl, microwave 30-45 seconds until banana is all melty and gooey)
  • 1-2 Tablespoons of all fruit preserves (I chose black cherry)
  • 1 Tablespoon of nut butter (I went with almond butter)
  • dash of cinnamon

Combine water and oats in a saucepan and bring to a boil. Reduce heat to medium and simmer until the oatmeal is thick (3-5 minutes). Stir in the melted banana right before you take the oatmeal off the heat. Transfer banana oatmeal to a bowl and add preserves, nut butter, and cinnamon. Swirl it all around and enjoy!

