Oatmeal KashaWhen I reached into my oatmeal container to scoop out my oats the other morning my measuring cup came out short – I was running out of oats! In an effort to remain calm, I started thinking about other breakfast possibilities. I remembered seeing some recipes for other hot, grain based cereals online, so I set out to see what I could come up with. I found a recipe at the Whole Foods site for Apple-Scented Breakfast Oatmeal and Buckwheat. It just so happened that I had a box of Kasha in the pantry, so I got to work. The original recipe serves 4, but I cut it in half since that was magically the exact amount of oats and Kasha I had on hand. I also didn’t have any apple juice, so I just used water in its place, and the recipe was still delicious. I topped the oatmeal with some shakes of cinnamon and a mound of sweet dark cherries.

I don’t think that I’ll be waiting for another oatmeal shortage before I start incorporating additional grains into my oatmeal recipes. I really enjoyed the flavor and additional texture that the Kasha added to the oatmeal, and now my wheels are really turning with other oatmeal and grain possibilities.

