Carrot Cake Pancakes

I think it’s no secret that I love breakfast. I also love dessert, and I really, really love when these two forces combine to create a super delicious dish like these carrot cake pancakes with maple cream icing!

I have actually been working on crafting the “perfect” pancake recipe for quite some time now using the pancake recipe found in the Joy of Vegan Baking as my original inspiration. I pretty much thought I had it nailed down until I saw these carrot cake pancakes over at Picky Cook. They immediately went on my list of recipes to try, but in the interest of continuing to tweak my beloved pancake recipe I tried to merge the two into a delicious (mostly) vegan version. I also created a maple cream icing to top off the pancakes, because really, what’s a carrot cake without the icing?

adapted from Joy of Vegan Baking and Picky Cook

makes 8 – 10 pancakes

  • 1 1/2 cups whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1 Tablespoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
  • 1/8 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • pinch of ground ginger
  • 1 1/2 cups grated carrots
  • 1/4 cup toasted chopped walnuts
  • 1/3 cup raisins
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla
  • 1 cup milk + 2-3 Tablespoons, divided
  • 1 Tablespoon canola oil
  • 1 Tablespoon unsweetened applesauce
  • 3 Tablespoons maple syrup
  • maple cream icing (recipe follows)
  • nonstick cooking spray for pan

Sift flour, baking powder, salt, cinnamon, nutmeg, and ginger into a large bowl. In a medium bowl combine milk, oil, applesauce, maple syrup, and vanilla. Make a well in the center of the flour mixture and pour in the milk mixture. Mix just until moistened, being careful not to overmix.

Fold in the carrots, raisins, and walnuts.

Heat a griddle or skillet over medium heat. Coat the griddle/skillet with nonstick spray.

If needed, add 2-3 Tablespoons of milk to the batter to thin out (I added 3 T). Scoop 1/4 cup of batter into the skillet and gently spread out the batter into a circle. Cook for a couple of minutes until bubbles begin to appear on the surface. Flip the pancake with a spatula and cook on the other side for an additional minute or two.

Keep pancakes warm in a 190 degree oven until you are ready to serve.

Serve with maple cream icing (recipe below).

makes about two servings

  • 1/4 cup plain greek yogurt
  • 1/4 cup maple syrup*

Combine greek yogurt and maple syrup in a small bowl with a whisk. Pour over pancakes.

(*If you would prefer a thicker icing you can decrease the amount of maple syrup by 1-2 Tablespoons.)

